Some words strung together

Standard

When my sister and I were kids, we turned The Moon by R.L. Stevenson into a song and dance which we gleefully performed for our parents. To this day, whenever I think of that poem, I immediately hear it as a song and I struggle to remember the words if I’m not singing it. I can’t remember performing any other poems like that even though I come from such a performance-rich culture. Jamaicans have a fairly strong oral tradition which includes performance of stories and poems. Immediately, I think of the late Honourable Louise Bennett-Coverly, Mutabaruka and Joan Andrea Hutchinson. Pretty early on I decided I didn’t have the innate talent and creativity to be anything more than a consumer of this oral tradition. As such, I have dabbled in poetry for the page but nothing performance-based. So you can imagine my anxiety when last week Thursday I performed at a party with 40 guests including complete strangers and some of the people closest to me.

My husband and I were hosting Dinner with Friends: The Christmas Edition in our condo’s party room. Our co-hosts, Vidya and Llorene – the architects of Dinner with Friends – like the savvy hosts they are, decided to spice up the event with performances from several past and future Dinner with Friends guests. The performances were diverse: stand-up comedy, poetry, and song. I performed what I called “some words strung together”. Being a self-confessed amateur, I wasn’t sure what to call my piece – a poem? spoken word? a story? Perhaps an argument could be made for each of these as I’m a bit unclear on the distinctive features. This is certainly something I hope to discover along my journey. The piece was incredibly personal and I felt quite vulnerable reading it for that particular crowd – though I’m not sure any other crowd would have been less anxiety-inducing. I think it was received well – a few people commented to me that they liked it but I can never tell if people are just being kind. In any case, the event, and that performance in particular, marked the official beginning of my journey.

One thought on “Some words strung together

Leave a comment