Lazarus Jewel Box

Standard

Today’s NapoWriMo prompt was to draw inspiration from one or more names for seashells.

It’s supposedly my inheritance
I guess that makes me the proud recipient
Supposedly part of my history
But I feel nothing but disdain,
Dread at the thought of unearthing its contents:
Memoirs of hatred
Jewels of shame
Adornments of oppression.
Supposedly my legacy
But all I have is this haunting,
Nape-of-the-neck hair-raising.
My inheritance, history, legacy
Once entombed in a ghastly miter
And now risen from the dead.

Leave a Reply

