More than An Art

Standard

Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge is to write a love poem to an inanimate object. The poem I wrote is actually something I started a while ago. I’m not sure I’ve achieved the goal of a love poem but I finished something that was undone so that’s a victory in my books.

I picked you up on the cobbled streets of Old San Juan

I was tired, cranky but you called to me

Called out something in me

Something not yet formed

Not yet understood

I wrapped you up carefully for the journey home

Once there, I stashed you in the closet

For safe keeping, of course

Occasionally, I’d recall

The outline of your form

Fragments of your words

The feeling you evoked

 

Fast forward past the wedding

The new apartment and such

It was time to unveil you

To dress you up in wood and glass

So I could trace your curves

Dwell on your lines

Take in each and every word

And marinate in your challenge

I get it now

It’s not about you or even about me

You were mine for so long

But now you’re ours

A constant reminder of those San Juan streets

And how to do I love you

An Art

3 thoughts on “More than An Art

Leave a Reply

