National Poetry Month?

Standard

Apparently, it’s National Poetry Month in the US and Canada, as well as National Poetry Writing Month or NaPoWriMo. I’m a bit late to the party but I’ll give it a try. I’m behind on both story-collecting and my intention to write more poetry so this is an effort to jump start the latter.

I’m excited to learn about and try my hand at new genres of poetry (I’ve only really done free form). I do not expect that any of these crash courses will make me an expert but I’m looking forward to learning more. For example, today’s prompt is to write a lune – an English form Haiku where lines are counted instead of syllables. I’ll post my attempt at this separately.

Stay tuned for poems!

Leave a Reply

