The stories we tell ourselves

Standard

Recently, a friend shared some thoughts with me about the stories we tell ourselves. She said (or wrote, rather):

We become the story we tell ourselves.

People always tell me what they’re not.

What they’re not good at.

When I ask, ‘What are you? Who are you? What are you good at?’ I usually get a blank stare or an ‘I don’t know’ or ‘nothing’.

So you’re nothing, or maybe lost.

Worse, the only thing you’re sure of is that you’re not good enough.

It is the only story that you tell yourself.

We become the story we tell ourselves.

What’s your story?

I’m still not sure how to answer that question. What’s MY story? Perhaps that’s what I’m searching for through this project. Is that what all storytellers are ultimately trying to do or find? A story that reflects them? their life? their hopes? their dreams?

I’ve been actively pondering this question over the past week. What comes to mind is what I do (i.e., what pays the bills), where I come from (my country of origin) or maybe even my belief system. But none of these seem sufficiently big enough to be called “my story”. And maybe that’s the point. None of us have just one story. We are walking, talking storyboards with constantly changing plots and characters. If I focus instead on my many different stories – develop the characters and plot lines fully – then perhaps I can begin to identify the thread that ties them all to me.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “The stories we tell ourselves

  1. Lisa M

    I really enjoyed this piece. Really like the idea of being a walking storyboard. I’m on this journey with you…will do my best to also develop the characters and plot lines in my on-going story. I’m sure it’ll be deliciously messy!

Leave a Reply

