Sick Day

Standard

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a rubaiyat. The rubaiyat consists of multiple ruba’i – a Persian form having four lines with the rhyme scheme AABA.

Head pounding, ears ringing,
I don’t even feel like singing.
Betrayed by my soul’s vessel,
I pray, a cure, my love is bringing.

Trapped supine by doctor’s orders,
Plagued by unwelcome boarders,
The cure, I pray, will bring eviction
And rid me of corporeal disorders.

Slowly, surely, my strength improves
As traces of illness the cure removes.
My love is here to guide the way
As I slip back into my daily grooves.

Leave a Reply

